Seven Deadly Sins

Seven Deadly Sins

There are six things the Lord hates— no, seven things he detests: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that kill the innocent, a heart that plots evil, feet that race to do wrong, a false witness who pours out lies, a person who sows discord in a family. (Proverbs 6:16-19)

Read: Exodus 13:17-15:18, Matthew 21:23-46, Psalm 26:1-12, Proverbs 6:16-19

Relate: Around 590 AD, Gregory (the first guy to call himself Pope) made a list that became what we now know as the seven deadly sins. That list is: luxuria, gula, avaritia, acedia, ira, invidia, and superbia. In English that’s: lechery (lust), gluttony, avarice (greed), listlessness (sloth), wrath, envy, and pride. Clearly Greg’s list and Solomon’s list are very different. The traditional seven deadly sins aren’t meant to be a category of “special” sin but rather they are the source from which other sins flow. Murder, war, violence all have ira at their root. Sexual depravity flows out of luxuria. Laziness, apathy, depression all have acedia as their source. It is from these seven cardinal sins that all others flow.

And now I have a confession… I must admit that I’ve never really thought much about the Roman Catholic Church’s seven deadly sins. I would look them up when discussion about a movie like Se7en or literature like Dante’s Divine Comedy makes use of them. I’d note when reading through Proverbs that this is a completely different list, but the light bulb never really went on until after I’d already started writing this post. Greg’s list and Solomon’s list are different in content and purpose but they also share some similarities. Greg was writing his list introspectively. Solomon was writing socially. If I could some up Proverbs in two words it would be: “Wisdom applied”. Most of what Solomon writes deals in relations. How do my actions, wise and foolish, effect others. So Greg’s list is what makes my life hell. Solomon’s list is how I make another’s life hell.

React: When we get down to it, sin is sin. Every time I sin I am sending myself down the path to hell and I am hurting others as well. Sin never only hurts myself. There is no such thing as a little sin. The penny stolen sends me to hell and it robs someone else of their possession. The lie told sends me to hell and robs someone else of the truth. The lustful thought sends me to hell and robs someone else of their dignity. All sin is both private and public. All sin is deadly. All sin leads to death. All sin is detestable in God’s sight. Is it detestable in mine?


God, I’m sorry. I’m sorry for my sin and I’m sorry for the damage my evil has done to others. I’m sorry that I do not hate my sin as much as you do. Help me with that. It seems that the more I sin, the less guilty I feel about it. Please reverse that. Give me a tender heart again that breaks with the things that break Your heart. Let me detest me sin, and help me to change.

7 thoughts on “Seven Deadly Sins

  1. Great point and I never thought of it that way believe it or not, every time we sin it hurts us in a big way (our soul) and hurts others in a more direct way. Very, very pondering and thought provoking! So it hurts relationships, makes sense! I guess the simple examples you used made it simple.

    Thank you!

  2. Our modern concept or understanding of the seven deadly sins is linked to the work of the 4th century monk Evagrius Ponticus, also called Evagrius the Solitary. In 375 AD he developed eight evil thoughts (Logismoi) or terrible temptations, from which all sinful behavior springs. In no particular order his eight patterns of evil thought were gluttony, lust, greed, pride, sorrow, wrath, vainglory and sloth. Almost two centuries later, Pope Gregory in around 590 AD would revise and name envy, greed, gluttony, lust, pride, sloth and wrath as the Seven Deadly Sins.

  3. Nice one. Be killing sin or it will be killing you. Good to be motivated about preserving our own sanctity and veering away from areas that compromise our true prowess. Though I know how much lists of “do’s and don’ts” ultimately are just a reminder, I figured I’d share the list of things that are less honorable in the eyes of God, from Galatians,”Fornication, uncleanness, immodesty, luxury, idolatry, witchcraft, enmity, contention, emulations, wraths, quarrels, dissentions, sects, envies, murders, drunkenness, revelling.” Gal 5:19-21 Wishing you a sin free day!

Join the discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s